stop all the clocks

I met the love of my life when i was 19.

I wasn’t even looking, but there he was. I was at a weird stage in my life, kinda in the middle, between the teens and my twenties. I had just moved. I was lonely. I was stuck in the middle of everything.

He was described as a brat, behavior problems, that just made me want him more. We always want the bad guys, don’t we?
It wasn’t love at first sight at all, actually, he refused to sit next to me on our first car ride together, and I thought he was a bit ugly to look at. But we had patience. I had more patience with him than I’ve had with anyone, and the brat with behavior problems turned in to a spoiled cuddly bear. A ‘well just because I am 40 kilo, doesnt mean I wont sit on your lap’ cuddly bear.

And we did it all, didn’t we? It was you and me. We moved a cross the country together, left family and friends behind. We fell so low, but then we got up again, together. I stumbled, I fell, I got up again, and you were there, always.

I met the love of my life when I was 19, and on Friday, exactly one week before my 30th birthday, on the floor in the vets office, his head in my lap, his paw in my hand, we said goodbye.
It’s like an era has ended, but I have no idea how to start a new era without him.

Sleep tight, Emil. You are terribly missed <3

 

 

11 responses to this post.

  1. oh so incredibly sorry for the loss of your sweet Emil :(

    Reply

  2. What a beautiful tribute to your special friend. Sounded like he was the perfect companion. The wonderful memories of him will ease your pain. All the best to you.

    Reply

  3. So sorry. My first dog I had for 16 years. She was wonderful. I’ve always had pets and always will, even though they can break our hearts. He sounded like a very special guy. Lovely photo. I can tell you will be left with wonderful memories.

    Reply

  4. Oh, what an adorable face. I’m so sorry for your loss–we had a dog that my parents got shortly before I was born and we grew up together. Losing her when we were both 13 was one of the saddest days of my childhood. Pets have a special place in our hearts that only other pet lovers truly understand. Lots of hugs!

    Reply

    • Posted by lengsel on October 15, 2012 at 16:06

      Oh, i had that too. My family got a golden retriver just before i was born, and he died when i was 10. Very sad. I miss Emil so much.

      thanks for your comment :)

      Reply

  5. Oh goodness, he is beautiful! I am so very, very sorry for your loss – the loss of fur baby is truly heartbreaking. There really are no words… Sending much love your way xx

    Reply

    • Posted by lengsel on December 31, 2012 at 11:49

      Thank you for your nice comment, Katie :-) (and for reminding me that I should wipe the dust of the blogg and start writing again)

      Reply

please do

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

