FO week last day

 

Its the last day of the finished objects week. This has been fun, and I migh stockpile my FO’s again ,so I can repeat this, or I might not. Either way it was fun to have a knitting blog for a week. Thanks for all your kind comments :-)

 

I am of course saving the best for last, so here goes

 

I can’t believe I actually knitted this so fast. Remember my post about summer knitting, and I was going to knit the shalom? Well I did, in 20 days, though most part of it was knitted during my 7 day vacation.

So what do I think?

Well I like it, indeed I do, I think I might also love it once I get to wear it more. I have rather narrow shoulders, so I feel like it’s a bit too big over my shoulders (and I know its supposed to be big over the shoulders, I just feel like it is almost too big) and the armpit came out rather large after blocking.

On the other hand, they yarn which I have never tried before was a pleasant experience and I will definitely knit with that yarn again. The pattern was very easy to follow, I didn’t do any changes to it (though I think I messed up the first waist shaping part, cause I had placed my marker wrong, but that’s not the patterns fault). Had a hard time deciding on a button, I wanted the button to pop, but not too much, and I wanted it to match the garment. I think I decided for the right one. I am very proud of this though, it’s a rather big garment. Though I don’t think I would recommend knitting with bulky yarn during summer, sometimes I was afraid the yarn would felt in my hands. Hehe

Its an pattern both for the newer knitter, but also for the more experienced knitter in need of an vacation ;)

Pattern:  (ravelry link)

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/shalom-cardigan

and a link to the page where you can download the pattern. Just scroll down and you’ll se a download button to the right.

http://involvingthesenses.blogspot.com/

Yarn and needles: I used 7 skeins of Sandes Garn Alfa, wich is a bulky yarn consiting of 85% wool and 15% mohair. I knitted the item on 6mm needles.

2 responses to this post.

  1. so pretty! the texture of that cardigan is just awesome. Looks like a great layering piece for fall.

    Reply

    • Posted by lengsel on August 21, 2011 at 14:58

      thank you! I can hardly wait for fall and the chance to use it. It is very comfy, so I am sure it will be used a lot!

      Reply

please do

