I made a skirt, and I am not afraid to use it

Why would I knit a skirt? I don’t wear much skirts, I have 5 pets, a knitted skirt would only be a magnet to all their fur, and what if you spend all this time knitting a skirt, then you wash it, and it widens out, and suddenly you have a skirt that keeps falling down to your ankles, that’s not flattering.

There are many reasons not to knit a skirt, so I knitted one. Yeah. I found this drops pattern, and I usually don’t find drops patterns, cause let’s be honest here, their patterns are poorly written and they expect you to be mind readers and constantly knit ahead and read ahead, and know math cause they can’t be bothered counting for you. But they made this skirt, which I didn’t really like that much, but I liked the idea. Their skirt was this little short slim thingy called snowbell. I am not a short tight miniskirt kind of girl. So I modified. I used their stitch count for the size small, I used their recommended yarn and needle size, so all my cred goes to Drops. But I made my version a little longer, and a little wider, I also added another color, and insteadof knitting the garter part in the round, i knitted it back and forth so it made a cute split on the back.

And you know what? I love it! I am planning on wearing this on a Christmas party, cause this is pretty, its comfy (aka, I can stuff myself with Christmas food without the skirt keeping me for stuffing myself more) so yeah, go knit yourself a skirt.

Yarn: Drops Eskimo. I used around 370 metres, thats a little over 7 skeins. Its knitted on 6mm and 7mm needles, and you can find the pattern here: http://garnstudio.com/lang/us/pattern.php?id=5240&lang=us

I also learned that taking pics of yourself in a skirt is not an easy task.

click to enlarge if you want!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Det ble jo kjempefint! :) Og jeg er helt enig med deg i det du skriver om Drops-oppskriftene – de er elendige!

    Reply

    • Posted by lengsel on November 30, 2011 at 16:31

      takk! ja jeg er overraket over hvor godt jeg likte det. Jeg har styrt unna alle dropsoppskrifter, men har funnet flere drops-skjrt jeg kanskje drister meg til lage.

      Reply

  2. that is such a cute knitted skirt!! I actually really like knitted skirts- it’s a nice change up in the winter.

    Reply

    • Posted by lengsel on November 30, 2011 at 17:13

      thank you, Julie! :-) I really like it too and am not too intimidated by knitting skirts anymore. (and look, it matches my cat! ;-D) I have hearted some more on Rav that I plan to make.

      Reply

please do

