resolutions here we go

Do you make new year resolutions? I don’t. What I do make though, is knit year resolutions. What I love most about knitting is that you’re never finished, you don’t get to a point where you can say “there, I am done, now I’m a completed knitter” cause you don’t complete knitting, there’s always another technique to learn, something to knit, a new pattern to try, a new chart to conquer. I love this hobby (read obsession) because I can challenge myself, and I can continue doing so, and I like a good challenge!

 

 

 

For 2011 I had several goals, one of them was to knit more wearable stuff. Not that I don’t wear the hats and cowls I make, cause indeed I do, but I wanted to move on to larger wearable garments. I completed that goal, I made several wests and short sleeved cardigans, and I wear them.

Another goal was to knit my first sweater. And I did! Yey me.

Then there was the goal of making my first big triangular lace shawl. I managed that too, even though it took me a way too long.

When it comes to new skills I wanted to contiue to challenge myself with lace projects, learn different raglan decreases and increases, and be better at short rows, as they have been scaring me a bit. Well not the short rows themselves, but things like wrapping the stitches, and picking up the wrapped stitch. I recently did a pattern that had all those things, and I worked my way through it, and now I’m not afraid anymore. (there will be a blog post about that project soon, it’s just that I fell in love with the cowl and been too busy wearing it to take pics)

Another goal was to get my stash organized. It was chaos; it was in bags and baskets, in every floor, everywhere. Well I am happy to say that I completed that goal too. I now have my little yarn shed with labeled boxes, and it’s great, I always know where to find stuff.

So what are the goals for 2012? I ended up with 5 main goals this year, and two extra goals :)

1: Cardigans: 2012 will be my year of cardigans. I have already started one, and I have two more planned. If I manage to finish 3 cardigans in a year I will be very happy.

2: Lace shawls: started one this Christmas, have two triangular lace shawls and a stole planned. I think I will be able to do this. (I might eat my words here, come December 2012, but that’s half the fun of this goal making)

3: Knit for babies and kids: Nope, I don’t have a kiddo in my tummy, but I have never knitted for babies before, or little people in general, and I want to do that. My boss is pregnant, and I plan to knit some booties and a hat and a kicking bag for her baby.

4: Knit something from Stephen West. Isn’t that like obligatory for a knitter? He he. Either you knit something from Stephen, or from Jared flood? Well I’m on team Stephen ;-D so I have a scarf planned.

5: Knit from stash! The other day, while I was looking for a skein of merino wool of some kind, in one of my yarn boxes, it was so full I hardly couldn’t find anything in it without emptying it all over. The same was the case in the other wool boxes, and I thought hey I need to buy more boxes. But then I though oh no you don’t, you need to destash!

I haven’t been a knitter for that many years (3 years) and much of my stash is from that first year when you buy one skein here and two of those, and one here, just because the yarn is soft/pretty/on sale/whatever. And suddenly you have lots of yarn you really can’t make anything with. But I really need to destash and I think stripes is the solution here. Stripes and baby clothing. Striped hats, cowls, shawls. Destash baby!

Knit from books: I think this will be my hardest goal to complete, but I am putting it up here, at least so to remind me that I do have many many knitting books and that I should knit from them! I really enjoy browsing through them, but then I go on Ravelry and find a similar pattern instead, cause my knitting books don’t have “yarn ideas” and project pictures. But I really should try to knit from my books, at least one thing. Come on, you can do this!

I should also finish that blanket I started in may, shouldn’t I?

Well, these are my main goals. Do you have any?

please do

